276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Confessions of a Forty-Something F**k Up: The Funniest WTF AM I DOING? Novel of the Year (Confessions, 1)

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Nell thought she’d had her whole life together and planned out, living in California and running a new a cafe-cum-bookshop with her fiancé Ethan. He is a fantastic chef who took care of the kitchen and Nell a previously successful book editor in charge of the bookshop. They were going to get married, have babies, and spend the rest of their lives together, until they weren’t. The cafe/book shop fell on hard times and Nell and Ethan couldn’t make forever come true. The childless slant was quite relentless in this story, but as all light reads it wasn't meant to be taken too harshly, and all sides ended up being explored. For me, and I think so many women, there was this expectation that I would have my life sorted by the time I reached 40,” says Potter, 50. “We have to marry, have kids, get the yoga body and the great career. And my girlfriends and I really experienced that pressure through our thirties, when we were made to feel time was running out – that we weren’t allowed to be a mess by the time we hit the big 40.” All of these pressures and stigmas – aren’t many of them propagated not by men but women, though? “Women do have a competitive streak, but I think that’s in life generally, and on the contrary I have always found them to be very supportive of one another.” As Nell navigates the complexities of love, friendship, and self-discovery, I found myself nodding in agreement, pausing to reflect on my own life and decisions. Potter's witty prose and insightful exploration of life's messiness make for an unputdownable read that's both heartwarming and thought-provoking.

In books, TV shows and films, everything is dialled up to be fantasy, the perfect wife/husband, the perfect children, the perfect house, the perfect figure, the perfect job, the perfect life. But in real life, no relationship, no friendship, no sex, no job is perfect. Whilst I'm aware this book is also a fiction and should be a fantasy, it really holds a mirror up to us as a society. It talks about the negatives of being a woman in society, making it so familiar and relatable, but shows that you don't have to be perfect to be perfect. The book features an array of wonderful friendships. From cross generational, to long distance, to the support you find when someone has seen you at your best, and your lowest, over many years.I also loved Nell's relationship with her family especially her father and that bit towards the end scared me to bits. There were some awkward conversations at the beginning with her mother as expected because her mum was still holding out hope for Nell to patch things up with her fiancée. It was all believable and I loved how it all came to be. Nell's housemate or landlord, Edward only stays at the house few days a week as he is married and has kids and visits them in the country over the weekends. He also owns a dog, Arthur who also becomes Nell's companion in a way as Nell spends a lot of time with Arthur and takes him on walks. Synopsis (It's a fiction book, so it helps…from Netgalley, the provider of the book for me to review.) Read the hilarious rom-com that inspired the hit new sitcom Not Dead Yet starring Gina Rogriguez ( Jane the Virgin), Hannah Simone ( New Girl) and Lauren Ash ( Superstore). As recommended on Davina McCall's Making the Cut podcast, and perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Ruth Jones and Marian Keyes.

The inspiration for NOT DEAD YET, ABC’s “Most Watched Comedy Debut in More Than Four Years” ( Deadline) This book is just as funny and heartfelt from start to finish and for any woman or man who wonders how the hell she got here and why life isn't quite how she imagined it was going to be...Potter’s writing grips you with prose that you’ll remember, this description of routine a prime example - “Routine is a funny old thing. It gets such a bad rap. We think of it as dull and predictable and long to escape. But routine is like a clothes hanger. You hang your days on it and it gives them shape. Without it life has no structure, if you’re not careful it can collapse in a heap on the floor” Now, we're 2.5 years on from that, I am now 30, and I am 1) still single, 2) still childless, and 3) have no job but still refer to myself as a writer, albeit a failed one when it comes to actually finishing anything. Sally Philipps narration was absolutely perfect! Her voice was so easy to listen to and she made me laugh so much especially when Nell was being snarky or sarcastic. She made the book a real joy to listen to and she has definitely been added to on my favorite narrators list! Hi, and welcome to Confessions of a Forty-Something F##kUp, the podcast for any woman who wonders how the hell she got here, and why life isn’t quite how she imagined it was going to be.”

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment